Te wahipounamu-The LandScape Shaped by Glaciers

Te Wahipounamu Ð South West New Zealand

It covers the south west part of NewZeaLand. It is an area consisting of rocky coasts, towering cliffs, lakes and waterfalls. contain some of the best modern representations of the original flora and fauna present in Gondwanaland. They include kiwis, ‘bush’ moas, carnivorous Powelliphanta land snails and the endangered takahe. The area contains New Zealand’s highest mountains, longest glaciers, tallest forests, wildest rivers and gorges, most ruggesd coastline and deepest fiords and lakes.

  • Proposed for inscription on the Unesco World Heritage List in 1990.
  • The site incorporates four National Parks, plus the intervening land:
    – Aoraki/Mt Cook
    – Fiordland
    – Mt Aspiring
    – Westland
  • The Westland and Mount Cook National Park and the Fiordland National Park, which were previously inscribed on the World Heritage List, are part of the “Te Wahipounamu – South West New Zealand”.
  • The kea, the only alpine parrot in the world, lives in the park.
  • Highest Mountain is Mount Cook which is about 3700m above sea level.
  • Sutherland falls(580m) is the highest waterfall in NewZealand and is among the world’s highest waterfalls.

Sources :

Video : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Giy2CGNvnOI


  • Pallerla Vishal

    Im $¤ c¤¤£, FrIeNd£y, VaLuEs ReLaTiönShIPS, n I féêl "Life is so short..!!!! So £€ts c€£€BRâTë €/€R¥ M¤mêñT":-) so keep smiling always:-)

  • Show Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

comment *

  • name *

  • email *

  • website *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You May Also Like

Petrela: Castles, Nature and Tranquility

As soon as one leaves Tirana on a bus to Petrela, you can start dreaming of ...

Annual Renewal Of The Q’eswachaka Bridge

Inca rope bridges were simple suspension bridges over canyons and gorges and rivers to provide access for ...

Colvin Talquadar’s: A Designated Residential College

Brief description: Colvin Talquadar’s is a school in Lucknow established in 1880 by Sir ...